The Mirror Lied

The Mirror Lied
The Mirror Lied title screen

This game was released by one of my favorite indie game studios, Freebird Games. I realize that the phrase “game studio” makes it sound like I’m a fan of a corporation. However, that is not the case. Indie game studios tend to be a lot smaller, closer knit, and most importantly more consistent with the quality in their products as opposed to Universal Studios or other large media corporations. It’s more like being a fan of a specific author than anything else I can compare it to. Naturally when I found out about the existence of this game, I was drawn to play it.

I didn’t get it. I wish I could say more, but honestly, I didn’t get it. I love when creators design experiences with deep meanings and don’t immediately spell things out for their audience. That is one of the reasons Journey is one of my favorite games. But this game just left me confused and wondering what just happened. It was free when I bought To the Moon, so I fortunately didn’t feel like I was ripped off.

Maybe you can find some deeper meaning in this game. If you did, please feel free to explain it to me. As for me personally, I didn’t get it.

Leave a Reply

